top of page

Library News: Resolution 2018: Read More!



It’s time to make those New Year’s resolutions. Here’s a good one: Resolve to read more in 2018. Don’t say you don’t have time—make time.

Being retired has given me more reading time, of course, but another way I’ve found that enables me to read more is taking advantage of audiobooks. And don’t assume you won’t like audiobooks. I felt that way until I began listening to them. I started listening to audiobooks with my son just driving back and forth to school. Audiobooks are great for long driving trips, but you will be surprised how much you can read even on short drives. I have a friend who enjoys listening to audiobooks at night before she goes to sleep.

Where can you find audiobooks? At the library, of course, either on CDs or electronic downloads. You can download them to your phone or tablet and maybe listen to them through you car’s stereo system. If that’s too technologically challenging for you, just check out the CDs and pop them in. Most of my listening is just driving from home to Trenton, but I read several books a year that way. I buy a few audiobooks, too, and when I’m through with them, I donate them to the library.

The Crazy 8’s Math Club for kids will continue to meet through the month of January. K-2nd grade meets from 3-4 p.m. and 3rd to 5th grade meets from 4-5 p.m. on Wednesdays at the library. Call (706) 657-7857 for more information.

The library will have a Family Movie on Thursday, January 18, at 3:30 p.m. Call the library for the title. Popcorn and water are provided.

We’ve had many requests for more computer classes. We will have a Computers 101 class on Tuesday, January 30. There will be two sessions, one at 10 a.m. and one at 6 p.m.


0 views0 comments

コメント


PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page