top of page

Michael Scott Announces Candidacy for District 2 Commission Seat



Editor's note: Candidate Michael Scott, while concerned about internet access in Dade, has retracted an accusation against Trenton Telephone he made in his original announcement, and apologizes for any distress he may have caused that company.

Hi. My name is Michael Scott. I’m running for District 2 County Commissioner this spring and I’d like your vote.

My wife, Cindy, and I live in the New Home community, where I was a volunteer firefighter for 12 years. I am a disabled veteran of the U.S. Army and National Guard with 22 years of service, and I have been retired from the U.S. Post Office for two years. Cindy and I have three children and three grandchildren—two grandsons and one little 7-year-old granddaughter who lives with us and attends Dade schools.

One reason I want to be a commissioner is to continue serving my community now that I’m no longer able to be a firefighter. But I am also interested in our local tax code, especially this TSPLOST issue that has people talking. Internet access is something else in Dade I’d like to see addressed. Also, now that I’m caring for my mother, I’ve become aware of the problems of seniors and I’d like to help them get a fairer shake. Finally, I’m worried about school safety and any ideas anybody has about that, tell me and I’ll listen.

I’d like your vote on May 22. If you have questions or want to talk to me for any reason, my number is (423) 315-9377. Thanks!

--Michael Scott


0 views0 comments

Comments


PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page