top of page

Letter to the Editor: Duncan Seeks Coaches, Players, Volunteers for Alternative Baseball League


Greetings! My name is Taylor Duncan! I am 24 years old from Dallas, Georgia, and I have autism. I am also the commissioner/director of the Alternative Baseball Organization, a 501c3 authentic baseball experience for teens 15+ and adults with autism and special needs across America.

We are searching for coach/managers, volunteers, and new prospective players (ages 15+) to help us start a new program to serve those throughout Trenton and Northwest Georgia. Resurgens Orthopedics has given us a grant for new equipment to start 10 new programs throughout the state of Georgia.

When I was much younger, I had speech issues, anxiety issues, and more that came with having autism… I wasn't able to participate in competitive sports due to the developmental delays, in addition to social stigma (preconceived ideas) from those who think what one with autism can and cannot become capable of. With the help of my mom, teachers, mentors, and coaches who believed in me, I've gotten to where I am today in my life: To live with the goal to inspire, raise awareness, and acceptance for autism and special needs globally through the sport of baseball. I started this organization to give others on the spectrum/special needs the opportunity to be accepted for who they are and to be encouraged to be the best they can be. The program follows Major League rules (wood bats, base stealing, dropped third strike, etc.), and is a true typical team experience for others on the autism spectrum and special needs to learn physical and social skills for life on and off the diamond. Alternative Baseball has been featured on national media including CNN/HLN, ESPN’s BASEBALL TONIGHT, NBC’s TODAY, among many local affiliate stations across the country. The program is expanding across the United States with new clubs forming in Greater Atlanta (Cobb County, Dallas, Newnan, Atlanta/Buckhead), Greater Chattanooga (Chattanooga, Cleveland), Huntsville (AL), Phoenix, Spartanburg County (SC), Jersey City, Colorado Springs, Columbus (GA)/Phenix City (AL)/Auburn, Ormond Beach (FL), Greater Charlotte, with many more in the works!

Any help is truly appreciated!

Sincerely, Taylor Duncan (770) 313-1762

alternativebaseball@gmail.com

P.S: CHECK OUT OUR BRAND NEW WEBSITE!www.alternativebaseball.org

See our appearance on ESPN BASEBALL TONIGHT here: http://www.espn.com/video/clip?id=23353934. In addition, I recently did a TedXAtlanta talk on the importance of providing opportunities in the general community for those with disabilities. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x0RGXug-WV4)

Commissioner/CEO/Executive Director

71 views0 comments
PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page